International Arctic Symposium:

Opportunities and challenges deriving from climate change (Madrid, November 12, 2015)


MOSAiC Science Implementation Workshop

Workshop held in Potsdam (Germany) on 22-24 July 2015....


IASC Fellowship Program 2016

Invitation for Application...


Call for AOS 2016 White Papers & Short Statements

The  Arctic Observing Summit 2016 is calling for White Papers and Brief Statements...


ASSW 2015 videos

and further information available on website...

IASC Medal

IASC Medals are awarded in recognition of exceptional and sustained contributions to the understanding of the Arctic. A maximum of one award is made each year, assuming that there is a nominee of appropriate quality. The award of medals is normally by the President of IASC during the Arctic Science Summit Week (or exceptionally at another major international meeting) following the ratification of the award.

Nominations for the IASC Medal 2016 can be submitted to the IASC Secretariat until 31 December 2015. The Medal Awards Committee will consider the nominations received and the Medal will be awarded at the Arctic Science Summit Week in Fairbanks (USA) on 12-18 March 2016.

Medal Recipients


IASC Medalist 2015: Jacqueline Grebmeier I Exceptional Contributions to the Understanding of the Arctic

Jacqueline Grebmeier was honored for her exceptional contributions to the understanding of Arctic benthic ecology and marine ecosystem dynamics; her pioneering work interpreting geochemical and stable isotope measurements in sediments; her commitment to the establishment of long-term observatories through international collaboration; and her outstanding leadership and mentorship within the Arctic science community.



IASC Award for Service: Odd Rogne

In light of the 25th Anniversary, IASC decided to – for first the time – present a special IASC Award for Service, recognizing “25 Years of Vision, Dedication and Advancement of Arctic Science”.  The IASC Award for Service was presented to IASC ́s former Executive Secretary Odd Rogne, who had been instrumental in the founding process of the organization in the late 1980s and making IASC a leading science organization for the Arctic.



IASC Medalist 2014: Prof. Julian Dowdeswell I Understanding of Glacier Dynamics and Ocean-Ice Sheet Interactions

The IASC Medal Committee honored Julian Dowdeswell as a World leader in the field of Arctic glaciology, recognizing his outstanding and unique contributions to the understanding of glacier dynamics and ocean - ice sheet interactions. The committee also highlighted Julian Dowdeswell´s outreach and communication activities which have been instrumental for public understanding of Arctic change.


IASC Medalist 2013: Leif G. Anderson I Understanding the Arctic Ocean

Leif G. Anderson was honored for his pioneering work on the functioning of the Arctic Ocean and his groundbreaking scientific contributions to understanding the chemistry and carbon cycle of this very special ocean system.



IASC Medalist 2012: Igor Krupnik I Bridging Natural and Social Sciences

Igor Krupnik was awarded the IASC medal for making scientist, decision-makers and the general public aware that the Arctic is not only about ice and polar bears but also about its inhabitants, for bridging between natural and social sciences as well as to the knowledge of the indigenous Arctic residents, and for invaluable contributions to the success of the International Polar Year.



IASC Medalist 2011: Martin Jakobsson | A New Generation of Scientists

Martin Jakobsson represents a new generation of Arctic scientist for which multinational and cross-disciplinary science comes naturally. His view that data should be open and accessible for research, is part of his success as illustrated by the wide use of the IBCAO digital bathymetric map of the Arctic Ocean. This beautiful map has been used in several thousand publications in areas such as oceanography, tectonics and palaeo-climate and is fundamental for understanding the Arctic.



IASC Medalist 2010: Patrick Webber | Medal for Arctic Science and Inspiring Mentorship

The first IASC Medal was awarded in 2010 to Patrick Webber who was recognized for his life-long scientific contributions as well as for the promotion of Arctic research in general through inspiring mentorship and leadership.