IASC has strongly supported the IPY Data Policy, with its emphasis on ensuring security, accessibility and free exchange of relevant data that both support current research and leave lasting legacy. The IPY policy provided initial guidance for achieving this objective, but post-IPY there is still a need to continue supporting, creating and sustaining Arctic data management resources.
Although IASC had been involved in several data management activities, for example Sustaining Arctic Observing Systems (SAON) and the Polar Information Commons (PIC), IASC had not yet considered a formal data policy. Such a policy would establish a commitment to best practice in relation to repository management and related aspects of Arctic data systems.
To reinforce IASC’s commitment to robust data management and sharing activities, IASC Council decided to from a small advisory group of external experts and interested Council members to develop and recommend a data policy, including steps toward implementation of the policy, that to provide guidance for IASC supported activities.

Mark Parsons (Chair) USA National Snow and Ice Data Center
Hironori Yabuki Japan Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology
Arkady Tishkov Russia Institute of Geography, Russian Academy of Sciences
Peter Pulsifer USA National Snow and Ice Data Center
Robert Huber Germany PANGAEA Data Publisher for Earth & Environmental Science
Volker Rachold Germany IASC


IASC Data Policy Group (Potsdam)
IASC Data Policy Group (Potsdam): Peter Pulsifer, Mark Parsons, Volker Rachold, Arkady Tishkov and Robert Huber


The Action Group developed a Statement of Principles and Practices for Arctic Data Management which was presented to IASC Council and formally approved on 16 April 2013.

Contact: Volker Rachold | AG Secretary