

Members of the IASC Action Group on Communicating Arctic Science to Policy Makers



Dr. Volker Rachold is the Head of the German Arctic Office, which serves as an information and cooperation platform between German stakeholders from science, politics and industry. His functions include managing the dialogue between German Arctic players, supporting the federal ministries interested in Arctic matters, coordinating Germany's scientific input to the Arctic Council and planning and implementing national and international Arctic-related events and projects. Before moving to the German Arctic Office in 2017, he served as the Executive Secretary of the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) since 2006.



Prof. Joan Nymand Larsen is senior scientist and research director with the Stefansson Arctic Institute, and professor of economics and arctic studies with the University of Akureyri, Iceland. She leads "Arctic Youth and Sustainable Futures (2016-2018), and led the Arctic Human Development Report: Regional Processes and Global Linkages (2015), and Arctic Social Indicators (2010, 2015). She is partner in REXSAC—Resource Extraction and Sustainable Communities; and was coordinating lead author with the IPCC, WG-II, AR5, Polar Regions chapter. She served as IASSA President 2008-2011; and is on the SSC of Future Earth Coasts.





Dr. Chinsoo Lim is a visiting professor at Seoul National University and an Endowed research Fellow at Korea Maritime Institute where he retired officially last year. In KMI, he served various positions at KMI including vice president, research supervisor, directors of several research divisions. His main research interests are shipping, port development and logistics policy including Arctic matters. Before joining KMI, he had worked for a shipbuilding company, Hanjin Heavy Industry, as a senior engineer. He received B.S. (majored in naval architecture) from Seoul National University with honors in 1979 and doctorate in ocean systems management from M.I.T. in 1989.



Alexander Klepikov was the Deputy Director for Research and International Cooperation of the Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute of Roshydromet (AARI) in St. Petersburg, Russia, until September 2017. Now he is the Deputy Director of AARI and the Head of the Russian Antarctic Expedition. His research interests include climate changes in the Arctic and Antarctic and their consequences, and physical oceanography of the polar oceans. He has field experience as an oceanographer in seven ocean cruises. He participates in many international programs and groups including AMAP, IASC, SCAR, WCRP/CliC, and YOPP.





Henry Burgess is the Head of the Natural Environment Research Council Arctic Office, hosted by the British Antarctic Survey. The Office supports UK research in the High North; provides advice to policy makers; and develops international scientific cooperation across all aspects of Arctic research. The Office also helps deliver the operation and planning for the NERC Arctic Research Station in Svalbard, Norway. Prior to joining the British Antarctic Survey, Henry was the Deputy Head of the Polar Regions Department in the FCO.



Dr. Kelly Kenison Falkner is the Director of the Office of Polar Programs of the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) and Director of the U.S. Antarctic Program. As a member of the Senior Executive Service, she oversees an annual budget of about \$450 million covering scientific research and logistics programs in both the Arctic and Antarctic. Prior to Federal service, she was a Professor at Oregon State University, where she taught and conducted research for 26 years, culminating in over 60 peer-reviewed



journal articles and book chapters. Dr. Falkner earned her PhD in Chemical Oceanography from MIT in 1989.



Lars-Otto Reiersen was the Executive Secretary of the Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Program (AMAP) since its formation in 1991 until 2017. In his role he has been coordinating work of AMAP, including its major scientific assessments such as the "Arctic Pollution Issues", seminal "Arctic Climate Impact Assessment" and "Arctic Ocean Acidification". He contributed significantly to the founding and development of the Arctic Council through his commitment to the protection of the Arctic environment. For his outstanding work and the input AMAP provided to several international conventions and agreements Lars-Otto Reiersen was awarded in 2013 the prestigious SETAC Rachel Carson Award. He is the co-chair of the action group.



Malgorzata (Gosia) Smieszek is a researcher at the Arctic Centre, University of Lapland in Finland. She is a political scientist and a fellow of the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) since 2014. In her research she studies international environmental regimes, Arctic governance, questions of science-policy interface and science diplomacy. She has taken part in a number of projects including most recently "Finland's Arctic Council chairmanship in times of increasing uncertainty" for Finland's Prime Minister Office (2016-2018). She is the co-chair of IASC action group on communicating Arctic science to policy-makers.