Screenshot 2021 09 28 at 10.48.08The Arctic Council Turns 25, 25 years of successful circumpolar cooperation. 

On 19 September 1996, the eight Arctic States signed the Ottawa Declaration, establishing the Arctic Council to enhance cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, Arctic Indigenous Peoples and other Arctic inhabitants. When the Council was established 25 years ago, it was one of the first major arenas for cooperation between the Arctic States following the Cold War. Today, the Council has grown into an influential forum that has created trustful relationships between the Arctic States and Indigenous Peoples. The Council produces ground-breaking reports, contributes to international conventions and legally binding agreements, and coordinates joint action on the most vital issues in the region.

Learn about the Arctic Council history, explore documents and resources, and much more here:

And do not forget to take the Arctic Council quiz! see here:

Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal