On 9 December 2021, the Arena for the gap analysis of the existing Arctic Science Co-Operations (AASCO) will hold its 2nd AASCO Science Meeting. 

The format of the 2nd Meeting will be a hybrid (online and in person) forum open to research, policy and society stakehoders.



Arctic Science Collaborations (AASCO)  

09:00-17:00 Helsinki time 

  • Arctic Sciences Collaboration, Invited Speakers 
    • president Tarja Halonen (video)  
    • Albert II, Prince of Monaco (video) 
    • President Lars Kullerud, U-Arctic 
    • Secretary general Petteri Taalas, World Meteorological Organization 
  • EU Arctic policy perspectives, Clara de la Torre, Deputy Director-General, European Commission, DG Climate Action  
  • Russian Arctic policy perspectives, NN, Russian Ministry of Education (tbc) 
  • Arctic land-atmosphere-ocean feedbacks, research gaps, current research, Prof. Timo Vihma, Finnish Meteorological Institute, FI 
  • Arctic science connecting to policy making processes, Dr. Yulia Yamineva, University of Eastern Finland, FI

11:00 lunch break 

  • Session I “Arctic science collaboration, key gaps & future research needs”  panel discussion  
    • Prof. Academician Alexei Gvishiani, Chief Scientist and chair of the Scientific Council, Geophysical Center of RAS, RU 
    • Prof. Nicole Biebow, Coordinator EU Polarnet, Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI), DE 
    • New UArctic Academic Award winner (tbc in Oct) 
  • Session II “Arctic science collaboration, key gaps & future needs” –  Invited talks  
    • Arctic Research Networks and their value in System Science Understanding, Prof. Jeff Welker, Universities of Arctic, FI 
    • Understanding of polar processes in the global climate system Prof. Risto Makkonen, Finnish Meteorological Institute, FI  
    • Integrative and Comprehensive Understanding on Polar Environments, Prof. Tuukka Petäjä, INAR, University of Helsinki, FI  
    • People Living in the Arctic, Roberta Glen, PhD. student, Alaska Arctic Observatory and Knowledge Hub (AAOKH) – University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF), USA 

14:00 coffee break 

  • Working in groups – aims & instructions  “Arctic research SWOT analysis for stakeholders”   
  • WG-I: Large scale research questions, chairs Timo Vihma (FMI, FI), Lise-Lotte Sörensen (UÅ, DK) 
  • WG-II: Research infrastructures & data, chair Tuukka Petäjä (INAR, FI), NN 
  • WG-III: Research infrastructures & integrated observation systems, chairs Heikki Lihavainen (SIOS, NO) and Jan-Rene Larsen (SAON, NO) 
  • WG-IV: Policy frameworks, chairs Alexander Baklanov (WMO), NN 
  • AASCO process e.g. summary for stakeholders e.g  
    • AASCO partners’ remarks:  
      • Academician Huadong Guo, Air-Chinese Academy of Sciences, CN 
      • Prof. Sergey Chalov, Prof. Moscow State University, RU 
      • Director Heikki Lihavainen, Svalbard Integrated Arctic Earth Observing System SIOS, NO 
      • Prof. Paul Arthur Berkman, United Nations Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR) and Harvard Law School, USA
      • Prof. Alexander Baklanov, World Meteorological Organization (WMO), CH 
    • WG summaries and concluding remarks 

17:00 End of day

The sustainable development of the Arctic regions under fast changing climate is built on science based knowledge. However, we currently lack a holistic process understanding of the Arctic and cold regions atmosphere – ocean – terrestrial ecosystems. The “Arena for the gap analysis of the existing Arctic Science Co-Operations (AASCO)” aims to bridge that gap.

Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal