At its meeting during the Arctic Science Summit Week 2014 in Helsinki on April 8, IASC Council elected a new President and three Vice-Presidents. The new IASC President is Susan Barr, Norwegian Directorate for Cultural Heritage. Susan Barr has been working on the IASC Executive Committee as a Vice-President since 2010 and she is now taking over the Presidency from David Hik whose 4-year term came to an end. David Hik will, however, continue to work with the Executive Committee in his function as the Chair of the 3rd International Conference on Arctic Research Planning (ICARP III). IASC Council re-elected Vice-President Naja Mikkelsen, Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland, for another 4 years. Larry Hinzman, International Arctic Research Center, Fairbanks AK, and Vladimir Pavlenko, Russian Academy of Sciences, were elected new Vice-Presidents. The Executive Committee is complemented by the fourth Vice-President Huigen Yang, Polar Research Institute of China, and the Executive Secretary Volker Rachold.

EXCom2014 sml


IASC Council also approved the Austrian application for IASC membership and welcomed Austria as the 22nd IASC member country. Austria will be represented in IASC through the Austrian Polar Research Institute (APRI).

AustriaMemberCountry sml

Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal