IASC IASSA UArctic signingAt ASSW 2017 in Prague, IASC President Susan Barr renewed IASC’s Letter of Agreement with the International Arctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA) and the University of the Arctic (UArctic). As laid out in the agreement itself, IASSA, UArctic, and IASC share many common interests in “international and multi-disciplinary cooperation in Arctic research, education and outreach. Increased cooperation between the organizations will be of mutual benefit, and contribute to enhancing the legacies of the International Polar Year 2007-2008.

“IASSA, IASC, and UArctic intend to combine efforts in selected activities so as to raise the level of impact of all three organizations in terms of making advances in research, education and outreach relevant to Arctic issues, and for providing relevant advice to policy-makers.”

IASC maintains formal agreements with several Arctic and Polar organizations, with the goal to develop and stimulate shared initiatives that are of high interest to the broader Arctic research community. This letter of agreement was signed on 2 April 2017 by IASC President Susan Barr, IASSA President Peter Sköld, and UArctic President Lars Kullerud. It will remain in effect for 5 years and can be renewed as appropriate. 

Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal