We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2019 IASC Medal, awarded in recognition of exceptional and sustained contributions to the understanding of the Arctic.

The shortlisted candidates are:

Jon Ove Hagen for Outstanding Achievement in Understanding Glacier-Climate Interactions, Glacier Dynamics, Hydrology and Meteorology of Glaciers and Ice Caps in the Arctic.




Marika Michelle Holland for Outstanding Achievement in Understanding, Modeling and Predicting the Arctic Climate System, in particular, Sea Ice.



Katharine Law for Outstanding Achievement in Understanding Arctic Air Pollution from Long-Range Transport and Local Sources through Numerical Modelling and International Observation Campaigns.



Sue Ellen Moore for Outstanding Achievement in Understanding Marine Mammals as Ecosystem Sentinel and how Climate Change is Influencing the Phenology of Arctic Species. 




 The IASC Medal Committee (Guðfinna Aðalgeirsdóttir (Chair), João Canário, Hiroyuki Enomoto, Manisha Ganeshan, and Heidi Kassens) reviewed the nominations.

The winner of the 2019 IASC will be announced in early March and the winner will be presented with their Medal at the upcoming Arctic Science Summit Week in Arkhangelsk, Russia. 

Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal