We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2022 IASC Medal, awarded in recognition of exceptional and sustained contributions to the understanding of the Arctic.

The shortlisted candidates are:

  • Robert W. Corell, for outstanding achievements in the pursuit of Arctic science across past political divides, the promotion of diversity in research through mentoring, and leadership that has brought science and public policy together and was critical to the formation of IASC.
  • John England, for outstanding achievements in pioneering Quaternary studies across Arctic Canada, excellent mentorship of generations of researchers, tireless efforts to support Indigenous communities and scholars, and advocacy of conservation in the Arctic. 
  • Dalee Sambo Dorough, for outstanding achievements in advocacy for the rights of Indigenous peoples, her service to a wide range of Arctic communities, including the Arctic Council, and her influence as a legal scholar.
  • Matthew D. Shupe, for outstanding achievements in interdisciplinary scholarship and his critical role on steering the unique international Arctic Ocean program MOSAiC to success.

IASC would like to thank the 2022 IASC Medal Committee, who reviewed the nominations: Mary Edwards (Chair), J. Otto Habeck, Yuji Kodama, Monika Kędra and Greta Wells.

The winner of the 2022 IASC Medal is expected to be announced mid-February and the winner is expected to deliver an award lecture and be presented with the Medal at the Arctic Science Summit Week 2022.

Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal