Dr Eoghan Griffin has been appointed as the new Executive Officer of the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) from 1st January 2015.

From 1994, Eoghan spent the next 15 years at University College London in the Atmospheric Physics Laboratory studying the polar upper atmosphere, first as a PhD student and then as a Post-Doctoral Research Fellow until 2009. He then joined the Imperial College INSPIRE teacher training programme and became a qualified teacher in 2010 before joining SCAR as a Project Officer in September 2011. In this role he has helped manage aspects of the Open Science Conferences, Climate Change communications and most recently the day-to-day finances at the Secretariat.

Eoghan will work with the outgoing Executive Officer, Renuka Badhe, during December to ensure a smooth handover. Renuka will be the new Executive Secretary of the European Polar Board from January 2015.

Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal