The Secretariat is responsible for the daily operations of IASC. Rannís, the Icelandic Centre for Research, began hosting the IASC Secretariat from January 2017 and has committed to do so for 5 years.

The Secretariat is based in Akureyri, Iceland. Previously, Germany, Norway, and Sweden served as host countries.


Executive Secretary

Allen Pope

Allen Pope

Executive Officer

Hjalti Ómar Ágústsson

Hjalti Omar

Communications Manager

Federica Scarpa

federica scarpa

Secretary, Atmosphere Working Group

Sara Morris, Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences at NOAA

Sara Morris

Secretary, Cryosphere Working Group

Karen Cameron, Aberystwyth University

Karen Cameron

Secretary, Marine Working Group

Laura Ghigliotti, CNR Italy

Laura Ghigliotti

Secretary, Social & Human Working Group

Gunnar Gunnarsson, Stefansson Arctic Institute

Gunnar Gunnarsson

Secretary, Terrestrial Working Group

Rebecca Hewitt, Northern Arizona University

Rebecca H

Secretary, ISIRA

Yulia Zaika, Lomonosov Moscow State University


Fellowship Coordinator

Alevtina Evgrafova, University of Bern, Switzerland

Alevtina Evgrafova